History of Chiefs

From Humble Beginnings

The beginning of law enforcement protection for West Fargo began on February 15, 1937 when Andrew Walburg became the first constable. Walburg worked part-time and was later replaced by Cliff Berlin who served as a part-time constable.

The first full-time Chief of Police was Lloyd "Smokey" Stensrud who was appointed on May 1, 1957. Stensrud was joined by Les Lindblad in 1959.

1966 Until 2020

When Stensrud was elected Cass County Sheriff in 1966, Lester Linblad was then appointed Chief of Police for West Fargo. Lindblad served as Chief until 1973.

Assistant Chief Ken Hansen took over the position of Chief of Police in 1975 and served until 1994 when he resigned because of health reasons. Captain Dave Bruckner took over as Interim Chief of Police.

On January 9, 1995, former Cass County Investigator Arland H. Rasmussen was appointed as Chief of Police and served until his retirement on June 20, 2014.

Mike Reitan was appointed as Chief of Police on June 21, 2014 and served until January 2017. He was in that position after serving as a Patrol Officer, Sergeant, Captain, and Assistant Chief. Assistant Chief Jerry Boyer served as interim Chief of Police until July 2017.  

Chief Heith Janke served as Chief of Police from July 2017 to March 2020. 


Assistant Chief Jerry Boyer was assigned interim Chief starting March 2020.