Fireworks are not allowed in the city limits of West Fargo per city ordinance. You can find some helpful information below regarding fireworks. Let us know if you have any questions by calling us at (701) 433-5500.
Can I light off fireworks in town?
No. Fireworks are not to be lit off at anytime in the city of West Fargo. This includes holidays, such as, the Fourth of July. For more information, please refer to City Ordinance 12-0310. If you are found lighting off fireworks within the city limits, you can be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor ($150.00 fine).
Where can I light off fireworks then?
Because the City of West Fargo bans using or posessing fireworks in the city limits, you'll have to find another place outside city limits. Contact the Cass County Sheriff's Department at 701-271-2900 to find out about any restrictions. Also, please be courteous and pick up all garbage after you light off fireworks.
What can I do if my neighbor is lighting off fireworks?
Don't hesitate to call the West Fargo Police Department at 433-5500 if you see someone violating this ordinance. We'll send an officer over to deal with the situation.
West Fargo City Ordinance
- Except as provided herein, it is unlawful for any person to offer for sale, expose for sale, sell at retail, bring into this City, use or explode any fireworks.
- This section does not prohibit supervised public displays of fireworks by the City, fair associations, amusement parks, and other organizations. Except when such display is given by the City or fair association within its own limits, no display may be given unless a permit therefore has first been secured.
- In addition to the penalty provided by Section 12-1001, any violation of this section may result in the seizure or removal by the state fire marshal, sheriff, police officer, or local fire marshal, at the expense of the owner, of all fireworks or combustibles offered or exposed for sale, stored, or held.
Any person who is convicted of violating or of failing to comply with any of the provisions of the ordinances contained in this chapter for which a penalty is not specifically set forth, may be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or by imprisonment not to exceed thirty (30) days, or both.
North Dakota Century Code
Read tne North Dakota Century Code CHAPTER 23-15 (pdf) to find out what the state laws are regarding fireworks.